World Intellectual Property Organization

Nice Classification

The Nice Classification (NCL), established by the Nice Agreement (1957), is an international classification of goods and services applied for the registration of marks.  The 2015 version of the tenth edition of the NCL came into force on January 1, 2015. Find out more about the NCL

Browse and search the Nice Classification


Assembly of the Nice Union

All states that have ratified or acceded to the Stockholm or the Geneva Act of the Nice Agreement are members of the Nice Union Assembly. The Assembly meets in ordinary session once every two years. The Assembly deals with all matters concerning the maintenance and development of the Union and the implementation of the Nice Agreement.

Note: Circulars are available in respective meeting pages.

Committee of Experts

Each state party to the Nice Agreement is represented in the Committee of Experts set up by the Agreement. As from 2012, the Committee holds its sessions once every year.  The Committee decides on any changes to be incorporated in the Nice Classification, which are subsequently published in the form of new editions every five years, and new versions every year.

Download and IT support

This area gives access to the NCL master files and documentation.

Quick access

Conditions of use 

  • All files can be freely downloaded and stored, copied, modified (layout or format), printed, used to create derivative products and displayed to the public.
  • WIPO’s copyright should be acknowledged in respect of the use of data from the authentic versions of the Nice Classification in public products and services.
  • WIPO assumes no liability or responsibility for any errors or omissions that may result from, nor for any loss howsoever caused in connection with using the master files made available on this site.

Related links

About IP

Other international classifications

  • Vienna (figurative elements of marks)
  • Locarno (industrial designs)
  • IPC (patents)

Explore WIPO